Although Anglers Rest is not a town as such, it’s certainly comes alive during the summer months at the Historic Blue Duck Inn. Anglers Rest is the place for adventure, relaxation, remoteness, great fishing and white-water rafting with good food and a cold beer.  Anglers Rest is where the Cobungra, Bundarra and Mitta Mitta rivers meet, and so do many groups whether it be fishermen, horse riders, those seeking adventure on the rivers, or those who want to escape and head for the High Country hills.  Further along the road, explore the Bogong High Plains and Falls Creek or continue along the Omeo Highway to Glen Wills and relive the gold rush history at the historic cemetery and mining sites. Omeo Valley is a magical valley with hills that at times look velvet lined and which leads you to the mighty Mitta Mitta river.

Must See & Do

Fish, white water raft, camp or picnic by the Mitta bridge on the Mitta Mitta River
Take a photo of the last remaining multiple truss bridge in Victoria, the historic Mitta bridge also affectionately know as the Hinnomunjie Bridge.  Opened in 1910, the bridge is made of hand-hewn timber in which the broad axe marks can be seen today.
Take in the late afternoon spectacular views from Mount Blowhard overlooking the Omeo and Mitta Mitta Valleys.
Relive the history of the Blue Duck Inn
Hike to the top of Glen Wills and Mt Cope
Visit The Maude and Yellow Girl mines treatment plants, historic area with great signage makes for a fabulous picnic spot.
Camp along the Mitta Mitta River at Jokers Flat and Big River Camping sites.
Walk the historic cemetery at Glen Wills and visit the historic mining sites.
Explore the Bogong High Plains on horse back, and visit the historic huts.

Bits of Interest

A ‘Blue Duck’ is the name given to a gold mining lease that produces no gold.
The Glen Wills Hall annually holds a traditional bush dance ran by the Mittagundi Outdoor Education Centre which is not to be missed.
A visiting stone mason erected rows of striking white crosses at the Glen Wills Cemetery, as his mother felt the cemetery, barren of headstones, needed recognition.
In 1904 the Yellow Girl mine produced 1029 ozs (about 29kg) of gold from 24 tonnes of ore.