Maintained by the Omeo Historical Society, the Museum is open daily between 10 am and 2 pm including weekends and public holidays.
The museum is housed in the old courthouse, and contains many artifacts of the region's history. Some of the fascinating paraphernalia include:
Together the Historic Park is the only original Justice precinct still intact in Australia.
Download official brochure
Omeo Historical Society Website: www.omeo.org.au
Ph: 03 5159 1515
Map: Omeo Historic Museum & Park
Jail HouseThe Old Log jailhouse is a great relic of the most lawless goldfield in Australia. Its thick walls, dark interior and displays transport you to a bygone era. The exterior consist of hardwood logs while the internal walls are made from black wood.
Zulu Creek Water Wheel
This 5 head stamper (rock crusher) has been fully restored along with landscaping of the Commissioners' gully in which it stands.
This ornate brick building is actually the "new" courthouse, but was built over a 100 years ago. As previously mentioned, the old courthouse now is the home of the Museum. Before this courthouse was built, court was held in a marquee and prisoners were chained to trees.
The new Courthouse is still operational and is used twice a year for official business. On every other day of the year it is open to the public as part of the Historic Park.